Home

The building blocks for block builders.

WPBlockTalk is a free, online event for all things block editor. Join us on April 2nd!

The building blocks for block builders.

A free, online event for all things block editor.
This event has ended and the recordings will soon be published to WordPress.tv

What is WPBlockTalk?

WPBlockTalk is a live, virtual event with speakers from all across the WordPress community, from theme designers to plugin developers to the people who’ve been key to designing and developing the block editor itself. Join us on April 2nd, 2020, learn to make the most of the block editor, and get inspired to build more engaging layouts — or your own custom blocks!

The internet knows no time zones, so the entire broadcast will also be published on WordPress.tv for you to watch (or re-watch) whenever you’d like.

Meet the Speakers

Say hello to a few of the hand-picked speakers who’ll be sharing their wisdom and experience.

Ana Claudia Alfieri

Independent Developer

@anace

Beth Soderberg

Independent Developer

@bethsoderberg

Bill Erickson

Lead Developer at CultivateWP

@billerickson

Ellen Bauer

Front-End Developer at Elmastudio

@ellenbauer

Enrique Sanchez

Accessibility Advocate at Automattic

@nrqsnchz

Greg Ziolkowski

JavaScript Wrangler at Automattic

@gziolo

Jeffrey Carandang

Independent JavaScript and WordPress Developer

@phpbits

Joen Asmussen

Design Wrangler at Automattic

moc.co

Jon Q

Principal Designer at Automattic

@itsjonq

K.Adam White

Principal Engineer at Human Made

@kadamwhite

Mark Uraine

Design Director at Automattic

@mapk

Matias Ventura

Code Wrangler at Automattic

@matias_ventura

Matt Mullenweg

WordPress Co-Founder, Automattic CEO

@photomatt

Mel Choyce-Dwan

Product Designer at Automattic

@melchoyce

Miguel Fonseca

Code Wrangler at Automattic

lamda.blog

Mike McAlister

Senior Software Engineer, WP Engine

@mikemcalister

Pablo Honey

Design Lead at Automattic

@pablohoneyhoney

Rich Tabor

Senior Product Manager at GoDaddy

@richard_tabor

Tammie Lister

Experience Producer at Automattic

@karmatosed

Victor Ramirez

Lead Product Analytics Engineer, The Knot Worldwide

@isvictoriousss

Schedule

TimeSession Information
14:00 UTC
10:00am EDT
Opening Remarks
Mark Uraine
14:05 UTC
10:05am EDT
The Gutenberg Roadmap (+ Demo)
Matt Mullenweg
Matias Ventura
15:00 UTC
11:00am EDT
Case Study: Creating Atomic Blocks
Mike McAlister

Case Study: EditorsKit and Block Styling
Jeffrey Carandang

Case Study: Migrating from Short Codes to Blocks
K.Adam White
16:00 UTC
12:00pm EDT
Global Styles: What’s in the Works
Tammie Lister
17:00 UTC
1:00pm EDT
The Evolution of Extensibility in Gutenberg
Miguel Fonseca
Greg Ziolkowski
18:00 UTC
2:00pm EDT
Overhauling Blocks UI: Lessons Learned
Joen Asmussen
Pablo Honey

Long Break

TimeSession Information
22:00 UTC
6:00pm EDT
Extending the Block Editor with Tools & Styles
Rich Tabor
23:00 UTC
7:00pm EDT
Accessibility & Gutenberg: Keyboard-only Navigation
Enrique Sanchez
23:30 UTC
7:30pm EDT
Crafting Components with Storybook
Jon Q

How to Speed Up Development with Block Scaffolding
Greg Ziolkowski
0:00 UTC
8:00pm EDT
Case Studies: How to Prepare your Theme for Gutenberg
Bill Erickson
Ellen Bauer
Beth Soderberg
1:00 UTC
9:00pm EDT
Block-based Themes in a Full-Site Editing Experience
Ana Claudia Alfieri
2:00 UTC
10:00pm EDT
Make Unique Designs by Combining Blocks
Mel Choyce-Dwan
2:30 UTC
10:30pm EDT
Gutenberg Beyond the Block
Victor Ramirez
2:50 UTC
10:50pm EDT
Closing Remarks
Mark Uraine